Not everything was unmasked

The writers of The Vampire Diaries have done it once again. Thursday night’s episode, aptly titled Masquerade, was off the chain. I want to apologize for the extremely long delay with posting a recap. Fortunately for me, and all of you, I have a couple of days off work, so I plan on updating this blog drastically.
Last night, I re-watched the show, as I keep them all on my DVR, so that I would it would be fresh in my mind for my blog this morning. I posted a little clip last week for the episode along with a small synopsis of what could happen. And let me tell you, I was not disappointed. Each week, the episode’s get better and better continuously one upping the previous week’s.
My shining star for this week, however, had to be Jeremy Gilbert. The transformation in Jer from last season is marvelous, it’s exhilarating and it makes me love him more if for no other reason than the fact that he reminds me of my younger brother. From the start of last week’s episode, his brotherly love and interaction with Elena was sorely missed in the first season. It’s nice to see that they have that bond, while they may not be blood. Elena has needed that and Jer has too, whether he wanted to admit to that. He’s managed to integrate himself into her life, her friends, her drama, but it’s not totally selfish. I have to admit, when I read previews for this season from the interviews at Comic Con, I was a bit worried about how Jer would come out. We were told that no longer would he be the pushover. He’s always worn his heart on his sleeves, allowing his emotions to be known by everyone. He was hurt by Elena’s lies and deceit and began to push her away last season. It’s very refreshing to see that he’s moving on past that. Jer may be the younger of the two, but he’s stepped up to the plate to be the protector of his sister. It makes me miss my brother.
Caroline…..I can’t stop saying enough about her. I’m constantly tweeting Kevin Williamson and Julie Plec begging them to not kill off Caroline. She is awesome! Candice Accola is literally kicking butts and taking names. I love Caroline as a vampire. She’s bad@ss! I can’t stop raving about her, and after seeing how she interacted with Tyler, admitting to knowing his curse, but being protective of him all the same, almost understanding, it’s given me a little hope for the whole vampire/werewolf thing. Sure we all know the story of how a werewolf’s bite is dangerous, deathly to a vampire, but how often will Tyler actually transform into a wolf? Only at a full moon, right? Since there are only an average of 12.3 (not sure how you get a third) full moons a year, roughly one a month, then really all Caroline needs to do is steer clear of Tyler during those times. It could still work romantically. After all, the separation could do them both some good. Absence does make the heart grow fonder. 
My biggest disappointments of the night were Elena and Alaric. Ric was pathetic at keeping his eye on Elena, while her martyr routine/act was a bit annoying. We all know Elena has a good heart. We all know just how selfless she can be. We all know that her friends and family matter more to her than her own happiness. The fact that she snuck out of the house, even after Ric had told her what was going on, just really pissed me off. Of course, she had to go and the writers had to write it that way….more drama and suspense, but it was really stupid on her part. I almost want to take her by the shoulders and shake some sense into her. Can’t she just let Stefan take care of her? Can’t she just this once cash in on all the favors her friends owe her? She’s always gone above and beyond where they are concerned; sacrificing of herself to make sure they were safe and happy. I don’t understand why she couldn’t just sit tight and let them do the same for her.
I have to question if we’ve really seen the last of Katherine? I don’t think so. I’m not sure how she’s going to get out, but she won’t be in that tomb for long. I think the moonstone may help her out, which leads me to this question….why on earth would Stefan and Damon leave her with the moonstone? Why not keep it, try to figure out just what it is instead of accepting her explanation at face value. Come on, guys! I thought you to be smarter than that! I always want to give out a “holla” to Ms. Flowers! Nice to see that the writers threw her in at the start of the episode. For those of you unsure about Ms. Flowers, she was a character in the original series of books written by L.J. Smith. Ms. Flowers was the sweet, old keeper of the boardinghouse that Stefan lived in. As the books progressed, we found out that Ms. Flowers has been around for quite some time and even had powers like Bonnie’s. Perhaps we’ll be seeing more of her in the near future? Hint hint….Julie and Kevin!
Finally, the episode ended with Elena being kidnapped…..SHOCKING and Katherine pleading with Damon about letting her help protect Elena. Katherine also dropped a key little hint……”If I had wanted her dead, she would be dead, but I have to protect the doppelganger. “ You know, Damon said close to those very words at the start of the season…..if Katherine wanted Elena dead, she would be dead. She’s threatened Elena, caused pain and suffering to those close to her, even killed one of her best friends, but not once has she tried to physically hurt Elena. I can’t wait to see what becomes of this storyline.

1 Comment

  1. I think Elena had to come. If not, no one would have stopped killing Katherine right? Then, Elena would have died???


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment